Greetings, knitters!

What a busy day we’re having here at the shop! We’ll just share a quick laugh with you today. You may have seen this popular illustration on knitting related forums before; it just gets funnier and funnier the closer you read it!

anatomy

The ever-present scarf and magically appearing yarn definitely sound familiar! If it were a diagram of me, though, I’d have to include a collection of fancy stitch markers (they’re even more addicting than jewelry!) rolling around the bottom of that bag, and a fierce “don’t talk to me, I’m counting” face ready to stop distractions in their tracks.

What do you think is part of the anatomy of a knitter? Share your funniest thoughts below!

Have a great week!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandra David
    Nov 09, 2016 @ 16:54:36

    It’s the first time I’ve seen it. Very cute. I’m a sitting down kind of knitter, but I suppose if I had a job where I could do it walking around, I would. I remember seeing an airport security person with a bag of knitting on her belt, and needles in her hands.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Linda Hawn
    Nov 09, 2016 @ 17:59:17

    A tee shirt that says “if I can’t take my knitting I’m not going”

    Like

    Reply

  3. Kathy kithcart
    Nov 10, 2016 @ 07:10:38

    That was so cute,and I can so relate. I would love to think I could knit and go walking at the same time, but I would trip and break my neck.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Debie Taylor
    Nov 10, 2016 @ 08:38:08

    I am a former classroom teacher and there are some of my former students that refer to me as the “sock teacher” or “the one that knitted”. I would use knitting a pair of socks to teach the scientific method: Problem – square heel flap, UGLY! Question? – how to achieve the diagonal ‘line’ as with ‘store bought’ sock heels. Hypothesis – short rows to achieve the desired diagonal line. Experiment, record and evaluate results, retest, … With this approach, I taught my students that the scientific method was everywhere and in everyday things that we didn’t readily think of; even in knitting. I would finish knitting the pair of socks while watching the students on the playground at recess. Yes, I can knit without looking at my work (foot body and cuff body) which amazed the students. “She can knit without looking!” My students were always curious about anything I wore as to whether I had made it or not, especially my socks!

    Like

    Reply

    • yarnpatch
      Nov 10, 2016 @ 09:22:51

      That’s amazing, Debie! I’m sure those students never forgot what you taught them using knitting- and that classroom learning is not about memorizing material, it’s about learning how to think, problem solve, and apply skills creatively. Thanks for sharing that awesome story!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

