The Things We Knit for Love

If you’ve been seeing red, I might know why: Valentine’s Day is just around the corner and, as with every occasion, knitters are throwing themselves head over needles into the spirit of the day! We never do anything halfway, do we?

Take, for instance, my own Valentine’s Day knitting project. With the best kind of friends, the perfect way to say, “I love you,” is with a laugh. So I decided to give the gift of my heart…

hearts        heart

I saw this pattern ages ago during a late night Ravelry binge and I just knew I had to try it! It’s a fun, quick knit (I whipped up two hearts while we were snowed in!) and it’s guaranteed to get a laugh from your loved ones. It’s also great for using up your pink and red scraps- I had enough Universal Deluxe Worsted in my stash for three hearts. If you’d like to give your heart away this Valentine’s Day, you still have time. The pattern is Heart by Kristin Ledgett, and it’s available for free on Ravelry.

This project got me thinking about other silly patterns I’ve seen. Sometimes I think we’ll knit anything! So I rounded up a few more wacky and wonderful projects for Valentine’s Day. Enjoy!

crochet box of chocolates

If your Valentine is more traditional, give them this Crochet Box of Chocolates by Michele Wilcox. They look good enough to eat, but don’t be tempted! On the up side, there’s no expiration date on these sweet treats.

breakfast

You could also spoil your sweetheart by making them breakfast in bed. All Day Breakfast by crazydazyknits is not only a feast for the eyes, it’s also naturally high fiber!

smitten

If your Valentine’s Day plans take you out and about in winter weather, consider gifting your loved one AND yourself with a shared pair of Smittens by Julie Weisenberger. One conjoined mitten allows you to stroll truly hand in hand in cozy comfort, while your free hands are snug in mittens of their own. (Note: the link above leads to the project page of the Ravelry user with the best photos; from there you can easily follow another link to the pattern!)

flower shop

You can’t go wrong with a classic bouquet… until they wilt a week later. Flower Shop by Maggie Weldon offers a perfect solution! Now you can wow your Valentine with a array of bright blooms as unfading as your love.

boyfriend

And last but not least, if you’re currently flying solo Knit Your Own Boyfriend by Carol Meldrum will help you design the man of your dreams to keep you company on Valentine’s Day. With customizable hairstyle, a complete wardrobe to dress him up or down, and every accessory to take Mr. Right from rock star to astronaut and everything in between, this hilarious book will never let you down.

I hope you’re feeling inspired this weekend. Enjoy Valentine’s Day and remember: all you knit is love!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Sheri, Emily, Susan, Shawndrese, and Anita

 

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mariah Reed
    Feb 13, 2016 @ 19:17:52

    I cant find the follow button to follow your blog

    Like

    Reply

    • yarnpatch
      Feb 17, 2016 @ 09:59:33

      Hi, Mariah! Sorry it took so long to get back to your comment. I didn’t read the notification right away- I guess I’m still learning this website, too. It should be a small gray button in the bottom right hand corner of the page. It’s little, so look carefully.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

